FIFA World Cup is coming to North America. Canada, Mexico and the United States have been granted the honor of hosting the world’s most extraordinary sporting event.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup bidding process resulted in the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) selecting the joint United States / Canada / Mexico bid as the location for the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

Two bids to host the event were submitted to FIFA, a joint bid by Canada, Mexico and the United States, and one by Morocco. On June 13th 2018, at the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow, the joint bid was selected by 134 votes to Morocco’s 65.

This will be the 1st tournament hosted by more than two countries, and only the second hosted by more than one country—the other having been the 2002 tournament, hosted by South Korea and Japan.

Upon this selection, each country made hosting records of their own. Canada becomes the fifth country to host both men’s and women’s World Cup—the latter having been in 2015; Mexico becomes the first country to host the men’s World Cup three times—having done so previously in 1970 and 1986; and the United States becomes the first country to host both men’s and women’s World Cup twice—having hosted the 1994 men’s and the 1999 and 2003 women’s World Cups.

The U.S. previously hosted in 1994 and the potential for a highly lucrative tournament, plus the existing stadiums and infrastructure, likely played a major role in swaying voters.

The ‘United’ World Cup will generate $14bn (£10.3bn) in revenue and make an $11bn (£8.1bn) profit for Fifa.

Of the 16 host cities, 10 will be in the United States while the remainder will be split evenly between Canada and Mexico.

Sixty matches will take place in the US, while Canada and Mexico will host 10 games each.

The final will be held at the 84,953-capacity MetLife Stadium, which is home to NFL sides the New York Giants and the New York Jets.

Here are the potential host cities in Unites States, Mexico and Canadá for the 2026 World Cup:

Unites States

• Atlanta City (Mercedes-Benz Stadium)
• Baltimore (M&T Bank Stadium)
• Boston City (Gillette Stadium)
• Cincinnati (Paul Brown Stadium)
• Dallas City, TX (AT& T Stadium)
• Denver City, (Sports Authority Field at Mile High)
• Houston City, (NRG Stadium)
• Kansas City (Arrowhead Stadium)
• Los Angeles, CA (Rose Bowl)
• Miami City, FL (Hard Rock Stadium)
• Nashville City, (Nissan Stadium)
• NY/NJ (MetLife Stadium)
• Orlando (Camping World Stadium):
• Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field)
• San Francisco (Levi’s Stadium)
• Seattle (CenturyLink Field)
• Washington, D.C. (FedExField)

Mexico (3 venues)

• Guadalajara City (Estadio Akron)
• Mexico City (Estadio Azteca)
• Monterrey (Estadio BBVA Bancomer)

Canada (3 venues)

• Edmonton (Common-wealth Stadium)
• Montreal (Olympic Stadium)
• Toronto (BMO Field)



Leave a Reply